+44 (0) 114 213 1050

Unit 3A, Parkway Rise, Sheffield, S9 4WQ, Royaume-Uni

  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Google Maps

©2019 by Sent Into Space.

ROBE DE MARIÉE D’UN ARTISTE EN FLOTTANT DANS L’ESPACE

EN SAVOIR PLUS

 

L'importance culturelle de l'espace en fait une toile de fond idéale pour les œuvres d'art. Le travail de Sophie Molins explore les thèmes des fins, des débuts et des attentes. Après un divorce douloureux, elle a créé un film montrant elle-même jetant sa robe de mariée dans un canal vénitien après son divorce. Elle nous a approchés pour poursuivre ce projet, en lançant dans l'espace une robe appartenant à une amie divorcée.

Pour lancer la robe, nous avons modifié un mannequin et l'avons suspendu à un cadre en treillis, spécialement conçu pour donner à la robe une qualité flottante et éthérée en montée, tout en étant libre de se déplacer violemment en descente à la demande de Sophie. Cela n'a été possible qu'avec l'utilisation de nouveaux matériaux techniques pour les lignes de suspension et le cadre, qui devaient être légers et discrets tout en conservant la force requise pour soutenir la robe dans son voyage turbulent.

L'œuvre de performance intitulée "Happy Ending Happy Ever After" a été créée sur un grand écran immersif lors de la Biennale de Venise au Palazzo Pesaro Papafava. Selon les propres mots de Sophie, "des rituels exécutés et enregistrés dans des lieux symboliques (Venise - ville romane) et dans l'espace (hors de ce monde, l'univers) articulent des émotions complexes entourant les fins; de nouveaux départs et les fantasmes et les attentes qui entourent les relations".

La musique de la pièce a été écrite par le compositeur Michael Nyman, lauréat des Golden Globe et des BAFTA, mieux connu pour son travail sur la bande sonore du film The Piano.

  • White Twitter Icon
Colour Version (White Title).png

AN ARTIST'S WEDDING DRESS FLOATING IN SPACE

READ MORE

 

Space's cultural significance makes it an ideal backdrop for works of art. Sophie Molins' work explores themes of endings, beginnings and expectations. After going through a painful divorce, she created a film showing herself throwing her wedding dress into a Venetian canal upon her divorce. She approached us to continue this project, by launching a dress belonging to a divorced friend into space.

To launch the dress, we modified a mannequin and suspended it from a lattice framework, specially designed to give the dress a floating, ethereal quality on ascent, while being free to move around violently on descent per Sophie's request. This was only possible with the use of novel technical materials for the suspension lines and framework, which needed to be lightweight and unobtrusive while retaining the strength required to support the dress on its turbulent journey.

The performance art piece entitled "Happy Ending Happy Ever After" was premiered at an immersive large screen showing during the Venice Biennale at Palazzo Pesaro Papafava. In Sophie's own words "performed and recorded rituals in symbolic places (Venice - city of Romance) and Space (out of this world, the universe) articulate complex emotions surrounding endings; new beginnings and the fantasies and expectations which surround relationships".

The music for the piece was written by Golden Globe and BAFTA-winning composer Michael Nyman, best known for his work on The Piano soundtrack. 

+44 (0) 114 213 1050

Unit 3A, Parkway Rise, Sheffield, S9 4WQ

  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Google Maps

©2019 by Sent Into Space.

  • White Twitter Icon
Colour Version (White Title).png